About Newland

History of the Electorate of Newland

Newland is a 69.3 km² suburban electorate for the South Australian House of Assembly, located in north-eastern Adelaide. It is named after pioneer and author Simpson Newland, a prominent figure in nineteenth-century South Australia. Replacing the abolished seat of Tea Tree Gully, Newland was created at the 1976 redistribution, taking effect at the 1977 election, and followed a bellwether pattern until the 1989 election.

Boundaries of Newland Electorate